<u>RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology (CDB)</u> 2-2-3 Minatojima minamimachi, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0047, Japan

CDB Director Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

May 12, 2004 – The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced the election of 178 new Fellows and 24 new Foreign Honorary Members to Academy membership, including Masatoshi Takeichi (Director, RIKEN Kobe Institute, Center for Developmental Biology). Dr Takeichi was recognized for his contributions to the understanding of cell-cell adhesion, particularly through his discovery and characterization of the cadherin superfamily of adhesion molecules.

The 202 men and women are world-renowned leaders in scholarship, business, the arts, and public affairs. Other new Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members include Leonore Annenberg, president of the Annenberg Foundation; Philippe De Montebello, director of the Metropolitan Museum of Art; Timothy E. Wirth, president of the United Nations Foundation; Lucian Freud, visual artist; and Guillermo Jaim-Etcheverry, president of the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

"I am honored to welcome these outstanding and influential individuals to the nation's oldest and most illustrious learned society," said Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks. "These new members have made extraordinary contributions to their fields and disciplines through their commitment to the advancement of scholarly and creative work in every field and profession."

Election to the Academy has always been one of the highest honors in the United States. The Academy has elected as Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation, including George Washington and Ben Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. Other Foreign Honorary Members from Japan include current RIKEN President, Ryoji Noyori, and Akito Arima, former RIKEN president.