Stacks Image 4
Hironobu Fujiwara, Ph.D. (Laboratory head)
藤原 裕展

Hironobu Fujiwara obtained his PhD in 2003 from Osaka University under the supervision of Professor Kiyotoshi Sekiguchi. At that time, he worked on the purification and characterization of human laminin-8 extracellular matrix protein. He then obtained a postdoctoral position in Kiyotoshi Sekiguchi's lab (Osaka University/JST ERATO project: 2003–2007) studying the role of the basement membrane in mouse embryoid body development and gastrulation. In 2007, he moved to work as a postdoctoral fellow in Fiona Watt's lab (Cancer Research UK Cambridge: 2007-2012) where he discovered that the basement membrane of hair follicle stem cells functions as a muscle cell niche. He was appointed to a Team Leader (Lab Head) at the RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology (CDB) in October 2012. He is also a CREST researcher (PI) of the Japanese Science and Technology Agency (JST) in the strategic research area "multicellular interaction" (2019–2025). He also holds a concurrent post as Adjunct Professor at the Graduate School of Medicine of Osaka University, Adjunct Associate Professor at the Graduate School of Life Science of Hyogo University and Graduate School of Science and Technology of Kwansei Gakuin University.

Stacks Image 74
Kyungmin Ahn, Ph.D. (Postdoc)
Stacks Image 11
Ritsuko Morita, Ph.D. (Postdoc)
森田 梨津子
Stacks Image 18
Ko Tsutsui, Ph.D. (Technical scientist)
Stacks Image 25
Noriko Ban-Sanzen (Technical staff)
Stacks Image 32
Asako Nakagawa (Technical staff)
中川 麻子
Stacks Image 39
Hiroki Machida (Ph.D. student)
待田 大輝
Stacks Image 89
Duligengaowa Wuergezhen (Ph.D. student)
Stacks Image 53
Yuichiro Hirano (Master's student)
平野 裕一朗
Stacks Image 60
Jun Yokota (Visiting scientist)
Stacks Image 81
Weiwen Liu (Visiting Ph.D. Student)
Stacks Image 96
Past lab members
Michiko Shono (Visiting scientist: 2017-2019)
Takuya Okawara (Graduate student: 2016-2018)
Eleonore M. Gindroz (Visiting student: 2018)
Kei Hashimoto (Visiting student: 2016)
Natsumi Saito, Ph.D. (Visiting scientist: 2015-2016)
Norio Uematsu, Ph.D. (Visiting scientist: 2014-2016)
Sakura S. Nussbaum (Visiting student: 2016)
Eloi Franco Trepat (Visiting student: 2014)
Chun-Chun Cheng, Ph.D. (Post-doc: 2013-2014)